peanut butter banana froyo with nutella swirl

peanut butter banana froyo // batch-22

When I graduated from the eighth grade, I didn’t attend the ceremony (it conflicted with my ballet recital), and I didn’t have a party (because, umm, why? It was the eighth grade.) But I did get an amazing gift — an ice cream maker and a Ben & Jerry’s recipe book. And let me tell you, having creative control over your own ice cream flavors is just dreamy. An ice cream maker is truly the gift that keeps on giving.

(Thanks, Mom!)

peanut butter banana froyo // batch-22

Tragically, there’s no place to store my ice cream maker in my apartment. It’s just too small. With three twenty-somethings, three twenty-somethings worth of stuff, the books (and cookbooks) of two twenty-somethings working in the publishing industry…

peanut butter banana froyo // batch-22

It’s tight quarters here in apartment 20. We keep our broom and mop stashed behind a mirror and a college-chic coat rack slung over the front door.

So you can imagine how excited I was to find a churn-free frozen yogurt recipe on one of by favorite food blogs. Yup. You read that right, I got to make froyo without my precious ice cream maker. It’s possible, people. If you dream it, you can do it.

peanut butter banana froyo // batch-22

This peanut butter banana frozen yogurt. And because peanut butter and Nutella are a match made in dessert heaven, I added a Nutella ripple. Just go for it. Trust me.

peanut butter banana froyo // batch-22

Peanut Butter Banana Froyo with Nutella Swirl

adapted from Shutterbean

makes about  1  1/2 pints

  • 4 frozen bananas
  • 2 cups plain Greek yogurt (I used 2%)*
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used 2%)*
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1  1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/4 cup Nutella

In a sturdy blender, combine frozen bananas, yogurt, peanut butter, milk, brown sugar and vanilla until smooth. Pour into a loaf pan and freeze for 1 1/2 hours. Place Nutella in a microwave safe bowl and heat on high for 30 seconds. Drizzle on top of the frozen yogurt and use a knife to swirl into a marble pattern. Cover the frozen yogurt and return to the freezer for 3-6 hours, until mixture is firm.

* The higher the fat content of the dairy, the richer the froyo. I found 2% to e a nice balance of creamy-yet-guilt-free.

IMG_2016

One comment

  1. Pingback: I love lists, Friday! – Shutterbean

Thoughts? Feelings?

