almond-pear galette

IMG_0918

I really, really hope you didn’t give up pie or pie-like substances for Lent. If you did, I’m sorry. Because this galette is one of the most delicious fruit-based deserts I’ve ever made. A sweet flaky crust loaded with roasted pears, and homemade peach jam! Topped with sliced almonds!

IMG_0879

I lied. This is quite possibly one of the most delicious desserts I’ve ever made. Full stop.

IMG_0894

And you know what? It was a total impulse. My roommate had suggested I make a pie. But, let’s be real: gluten-free dough is finicky and requires a level patience that I simply do not possess. Galettes, however, are a different story. I like galettes. They’re easy but they look fancy. They make me feel like Martha Stewart or Ina Garten would approve of my slightly haphazard rolling pin skills…because galettes are rustic, right? Perfect circles and precisely fanned fruit wedges are for tarts.

IMG_0896

But I digress. Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day. Make this almond-pear galette for the people you love.  Make it for your roommate! Make it for your mom! Make it for your coworkers! Just be sure they don’t have some sort of bizarre prejudice against fruit-as-dessert (I have one of those in my office.)

IMG_0911

Almond-Pear Galette

Lightly adapted from Two Peas & Their Pod

  • 1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour (I used gluten-free)
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar, plus 2 tablespoons for garnishing
  • 1/4 cup garbanzo bean flour
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup cold butter, cut into small pieces
  • 1/3 cup buttermilk (I was out, so I subbed in half-and-half with a teaspoon of lemon juice)
  • 2 tablespoons peach jam (homemade if you have it)
  • 2 large Bartlett pears, thinly sliced
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/4 cup sliced almonds

Combine the two flours, sugar, and salt in a medium mixing bowl. Cut in the butter until the mixture resembles a coarse meal.* Add the buttermilk and mix until the dough begins to come together. Use your hands to form a rough ball and remove it from the bowl. Wrap the dough ball in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 45 minutes.

While the dough chills, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Unwrap the dough and roll it into a wide circle (14″ – 15″) on a piece of parchment paper. Smooth the jam over the surface of the dough and arrange sliced pears on top, leaving a 1-2 inch boarder.

Finally, brush the crust with and egg-wash, sprinkle the pears with almonds and the remaining sugar, and bake for 45-50 minuts. When finished, the pears will be tender and the crust will be golden-brown.  Remove the galette from the oven, transfer to a wire rack, and cool for 20 minutes before serving.

*The original recipe uses a food processor to create the dough. Go that route if you have the equipment handy.

Thoughts? Feelings?

