broiled grapefruit

Image

Feeling under the weather? Need a little autoimmune boost? Terrified of contracting the Norovirus and/or scurvy? Eat a grapefruit! And if it’s bitter cold, as it’s been in New York the last few weeks, eat a broiled grapefruit.

Image

I’ve been sick for the last few days. (With shingles. Because’s apparently I’m in my 60s.) Today I’m making my triumphant return to work. I like sitting at home  and watching as much as the next gal but only on my own terms. And this was the perfect breakfast to get me ready and rearing to do something other than marathon episodes of Castle. Image

Sprinkling sugar on citrus and sticking it in the oven makes it extra sweet and extra juicy. Powdered ginger gives it kick. Plus, it’s warm. Broiled grapefruit. Trust me. 
Image

Broiled Grapefruit

serves 1 or 2

  • 1 grapefruit, halved
  • 2 tablespoons brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

Trim the bottom of each grapefruit half to create a flat surface. Place the halves, center up, on a foil-lined baking sheet. Combine the brown sugar and ginger in a small bowl and sprinkle equally on the two halves.

Broil on the top shelf of the oven for five minutes. Remove from oven, allow to cool slightly, and serve.

Image

Thoughts? Feelings?

