Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Soup

ImageThis whole non-daylight-savings thing is killing me. All I ever want to do in the morning is cocoon myself in my blankets and pillows and hibernate until springtime. It’s cruel to make a person get out of bed before the sun rises (so, before 7:30ish this time of year).

I swear I’m a morning person. I’m just pretty sure that you can’t technically call it “morning” if it’s pitch black out.

Image

Lately, my main motivation to abandon the warmth of my bed for the frigid outside world is the thought of coming home to this soup. Tomato soup is one thing, but SUNDRIED TOMATO SOUP? Yeah, that’s something else altogether. I’m pretty sure that Jeanine of Love & Lemons is some kind of flavor genius. I’m equally sure that I should have made a double batch.

Image

This soup may not taste LIKE summer and sunshine, but it’s not hard to imagine the sunshine that dried these tomatoes radiating through my body with every spoonful of soup.

It’s quite possible that my vitamin-D deficiency is also making me a bit delusional.

Whatever.

Image

Creamy Sun Dried Tomato Soup

Lightly adapted from Love & Lemons

serves 2-3

Ingredients:

  • a few tablespoons of sun dried tomato infused oil (from the jar)
  • 4 shallots, chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, smashed
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup coconut milk (I used full fat), plus more if needed at the end
  • 1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes (from a jar, packed in oil)
  • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • salt & pepper to taste

Heat oil over medium heat, then sauté the shallots, garlic, salt and pepper for about 4 minutes, until the shallots are translucent.

Stir in the wine and allow it to cook down for a few minutes before adding the water, coconut milk, and stir in the sundried tomatoes and spices.  Reduce the heat and allow the soup to simmer for 30 minutes.

When finished, remove from heat and blend using an immersion blender, food processor or blender.

Janine recommends adding balsamic, maple syrup or sugar to taste and serving the soup with an extra swirl of coconut milk, some chopped basil, and a few red pepper flakes and toasted pine nuts on top. I couldn’t agree more.

Thoughts? Feelings?

