Simple Roasted Chestnuts

IMG_0699

Hello, 2013. I’m glad you’re here at last.

Don’t get me wrong, 2012 was grand. I started my first real job, made a lot of new friends, successfully lived on my own for a full year, ran my first road race, attended a dear friend’s wedding,  paid taxes, purchased an iphone. Big stuff. Adult-esque stuff.

But I’m stoked to dive head first into this new year. I think 2013 has some good things in store for me. After all, in the wee hours of January 1st I managed to catch a cab. If that’s not a good omen, I don’t know what is.

IMG_0691

Another good omen is a tray of roasted chestnuts. A tray of roasted chestnuts means my apartment smells AMAZING. It means I’m about to ingest something seriously delicious and a tiny bit indulgent. It means I get to hold onto the holidays for a little bit longer.

IMG_0696

Come New Year’s Night, “The Holidays” grind to a screeching halt. I have to set my alarm for the first time in over a week and contemplate doing laundry in a somewhat timely fashion. I start to think about things like public transportation and packing lunches. But give me a tray of roasted chestnuts and my festive feelings return.

Trust me. You’ll want to bring these babies into the new year.

IMG_0697

Simple Roasted Chestnuts

Adapted from Bon Appetite 

  • 2 pounds fresh unshelled chestnuts
  • 2-3 sprigs rosemary
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 2 teaspoons (or more) kosher salt
  • Pinch of freshly grated nutmeg

Preheat oven to 425°. Lightly grease a rimmed baking sheet. Place chestnuts, flat side down, on a cutting board and use a sharp paring or utility knife to cut an X into the rounded side of each chestnut’s shell. Soak scorred chestnuts in a bowl of hot water for 1 minute.

Drain chestnuts, and place them in a medium bowl. Add rosemary, olive oil, 2 teaspoons salt, and nutmeg. Season coated chestnuts with pepper and arrange in a single layer in center of the baking sheet.

Roast for 30-45 minutes (until the peel begins to curl up and chestnuts are cooked through). Exact time may vary depending on the size and age of the nuts. Serve hot or warm.

Thoughts? Feelings?

